History of All Saints Academy
All Saints Academy (ASA) is the continuation of a rich history of Central Minnesota’s commitment to high quality, faith-based Catholic education.
ASA is comprised of two campuses (St. Joseph and St Cloud) and five member parishes. The joining of these parishes to create one large community is not a new concept. All five parishes have been dedicated to providing stellar education opportunities for many decades.
The St. Joseph Campus, for example, dates back to the 1850s. At that time there was no money to pay a teacher, so parents did work for a local farmer, who in turn, taught the children. That campus got its own building in the 1920s, and eventually collaborated with the College of St. Benedict to become a lab school in the 1970s.
The origin of the St. Cloud Campus dates back to 1947, when Holy Angels Church and School in downtown St. Cloud split into two new parishes to form the Church of St. Paul and the Church of St. Peter. Each parish built schools and churches at their respective sites to meet the needs of the surrounding neighborhoods. In 1969, St. Peter’s Church split to form another parish – that of St. Michael’s. Eventually these three parishes formed one school, Sts Peter, Paul & Michael.
While shifting demographics have precipitated changes in school and parish structures, what has ALWAYS remained constant is the commitment to ensuring exceptional education opportunities for the children in our communities. This is evident through the dedication of so many faculty and staff members at ASA who have served 20, 30 and even 40+ years.
All Saints Academy was formed in 2011 at the direction of then Bishop John Kinney. A Board of Directors was formed with equal representation from each parish. We began our first year as All Saints Academy in 2012.
All Saints Academy is blessed with a rich history, and a supportive community of faculty, staff, students, parents, grandparents and parishioners.